Queen's School of Computing

Environment

Kingston

Kingston is a relatively small (the population of the city and suburbs is around 120,000), "university" city, located midway between Toronto and Montreal and about 160 kilometres south of Ottawa.

There are excellent rail and road communications to these cities. Kingston was the site of the 1976 Sailing Olympics and is situated on the waterfront at the eastern most end of Lake Ontario. It supports a symphony orchestra and a number of theatre groups. A second university, the Royal Military College, is also located in the city.

Queen's

Queen's, founded in 1841, is one of the oldest Canadian Universities. The student population is deliberately small, around 13,000 students of whom about 2,000 are enrolled in the Graduate School, in 52 departments. About 60 of these graduate students are registered in the School of Computing.

The University is organized into 16 faculties and schools: Faculty of Applied Science, Faculty of Arts and Science, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Medicine, School of Business, School of English, School of Graduate Studies and Research , School of Industrial Relations, School of Music, School of Nursing, School of Physical Health and Education, School of Political Studies, School of Public Administration, School of Rehabilitation Therapy, and School of Urban and Regional Planning. Graduate work in Computing Science is administered through the

The School

The School of Computing is located in Goodwin Hall. A "technology centre" provides an integrated set of buildings linking the School of Computing, Electrical Engineering and the Computing Centre. Administrative offices are currently on the 5th floor of Goodwin. The School was established in 1969, and has an academic staff with considerable teaching and research experience. As well as the graduate programs at the Master's and Ph.D. levels, it offers an honours Bachelor's degree either with a major or a medial concentration in CISC and provides introductory computing instruction to the university as a whole.

The normal requirement for the M.Sc. program is a background in Computing Science roughly equivalent to a Bachelor s degree with a major concentration in Computing Science. Exceptional students with some background in computing may be admitted as graduate preparatory students. The School has about 45 full-time graduate students at the Master's level and normally admits about 25 new students each year. The Ph.D. program admits about 6 students per year. Ph.D. applicants should have completed a Master's degree in Computing Science. There are currently 25 candidates enrolled in the Ph.D. program. The various programs of study are described later in this brochure.

The graduate program is administered by the Coordinator(s) of Graduate Studies. A graduate committee which includes both faculty and student representatives determines policy in the various graduate programs. A small sub-committee makes decisions regarding admissions. Decisions regarding equipment and other facilities are made by the resources committee which again includes graduate student representation. A third committee, the undergraduate committee, completes the School committee structure. These committees report to periodic meetings of the full School which includes faculty, graduate, undergraduate and staff representation. Students are encouraged at all times to participate in School decisions on policy affecting graduate students.

Faculty Members


Selim Akl Selim Akl
Professor and Director
Ph.D. McGill University - 1978
Office: Goodwin 520
Phone: 613 533-3184
akl@cs.queensu.ca

Dorothea Blostein Dorothea Blostein
Professor
Ph.D. University of Illinois 1987
Office: Goodwin 720
Phone: 613 533-6537
blostein@cs.queensu.ca

Jim Cordy Jim Cordy
Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1986
Office: Goodwin 625
Phone: 613 533-6054
cordy@cs.queensu.ca

Robin Dawes Robin Dawes
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1983
Office: Goodwin 537
Phone: 613 533-6061
dawes@cs.queensu.ca

Juergen Dingel Juergen Dingel
Professor / Chair of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D. Carnegie Mellon University 1999
Office: Goodwin 723
Phone: 613 533-3071
dingel@cs.queensu.ca

Dave Dove Dave Dove
Lecturer, Continuing Adjunct

Office: Goodwin 753
Phone: 613 533-6053
dove@cs.queensu.ca

Qingling Duan Qingling Duan
Assistant Professor (School of Computing, DBMS)

Office: Goodwin 531
Phone: 613 533-2948
duan@cs.queensu.ca

Randy Ellis Randy Ellis
Professor / Queen's Research Chair in Computer-Assisted Surgery
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts 1987
Office: Goodwin 737
Phone: 613 533-6536
ellis@cs.queensu.ca

Gabor Fichtinger Gabor Fichtinger
Professor / Cancer Care Ontario Research Chair
Ph.D. Budapest Technical University 1990
Office: Goodwin 725
Phone: 613 533-3258
gabor@cs.queensu.ca

Nick Graham Nick Graham
Professor
Ph.D. Technical University of Berlin 1994
Office: Goodwin 629
Phone: 613 533-6526
graham@cs.queensu.ca

Ahmed Hassan Ahmed Hassan
Professor / NSERC RIM Software Engineering
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2005
Office: Goodwin 751
Phone: 613 533-3337
ahmed@cs.queensu.ca

Hossam Hassanein Hossam Hassanein
Professor
Ph.D. University of Alberta 1990
Office: Goodwin 628
Phone: 613 533-6052
hossam@cs.queensu.ca

David Lamb David Lamb
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Carnegie-Mellon University 1983
Office: Goodwin 626
Phone: 613 533-6067
dalamb@cs.queensu.ca

Margaret Lamb Margaret Lamb
Adjunct Associate Professor, Continuing
M.Sc. Carnegie-Mellon University 1983
Office: Goodwin 527
Phone: 613 533-6059
malamb@cs.queensu.ca

Pat Martin Pat Martin
Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1984
Office: Goodwin 630
Phone: 613 533-6063
martin@cs.queensu.ca

Alan McLeod Alan McLeod
Adjunct Associate Professor, Continuing
Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1987
Office: Goodwin 550
Phone: 613 533-6716
mcleod@cs.queensu.ca

Parvin Mousavi Parvin Mousavi
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of British Columbia 2001
Office: Goodwin 729
Phone: 613 533-6070
pmousavi@cs.queensu.ca

Wendy Powley Wendy Powley
Lecturer, Continuing Adjunct
M.Sc. Queen's University 1990
Office: Goodwin 632
Phone: 613 533-6734
wendy@cs.queensu.ca

David Rappaport David Rappaport
Professor
Ph.D. McGill University 1987
Office: Goodwin 532
Phone: 613 533-6055
daver@cs.queensu.ca

Kai Salomaa Kai Salomaa
Professor
Ph.D. University of Turku 1989
Office: Goodwin 545
Phone: 613 533-6073
ksalomaa@cs.queensu.ca

David Skillicorn David Skillicorn
Professor
Ph.D. University of Manitoba 1981
Office: Goodwin 528
Phone: 613 533-6065
skill@cs.queensu.ca

James Stewart James Stewart
Professor / Graduate Co-ordinator
Ph.D. Cornell University 1992
Office: Goodwin 732
Phone: 613 533-3156
jstewart@cs.queensu.ca

Roel Vertegaal Roel Vertegaal
Professor
Ph.D. Twente University 1998
Office: Goodwin 634
Phone: 613 533-3070
roel@cs.queensu.ca

Mohammad Zulkernine Mohammad Zulkernine
Professor / Canada Research Chair in Software Dependability
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2003
Office: Goodwin 535
Phone: 613-533-2837
mzulker@cs.queensu.ca

[top]

Professors Emeriti


Bob Crawford Bob Crawford
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Cornell University 1975
Office: Goodwin 735
Phone: 613 533-2475
rgc@cs.queensu.ca

Janice Glasgow Janice Glasgow
Professor Emeritia
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 1983
Office: Goodwin 662
Phone: 613 533-6058
janice@cs.queensu.ca

Don Jardine Don Jardine
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Delaware 1956
Mike Jenkins Mike Jenkins
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Stanford University 1969
Michael Levison Michael Levison
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. London University 1962
Office: Goodwin 637
Phone: 613 533-6071
levison@cs.queensu.ca

Glenn MacEwen Glenn MacEwen
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1971
Bob Tennent Bob Tennent
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1973
Office: Goodwin 541
Phone: 613 533-6060
rdt@cs.queensu.ca

[top]

Cross-Appointed Faculty Members


Tomas Babak Tomas Babak
Assistant Professor
PhD University of Toronto 2007
Office: Biosciences 3120
Phone: 613 533-6131
tomas.babak@queensu.ca

Gunnar Blohm Gunnar Blohm
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Universite Catholique de Louvain 2004
Office: Botterell Hall 230
Phone: 613-533-3385
gunnar.blohm@queensu.ca

Thomas Dean Thomas Dean
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Queen's University 1993
Office: WalterLight 421
Phone: 613 533-6482
dean@cs.queensu.ca

Michael Greenspan Michael Greenspan
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Carleton University 1991
Office: WalterLight 518
Phone: 613 533-6000 ext. 77736
michael.greenspan@queensu.ca

Keyvan Hashtrudi-Zaad Keyvan Hashtrudi-Zaad
Professor
Ph.D University of British Columbia 2000
Office: WLH 408
Phone: 613-533-3074
keyvan.hashtrudi-zaad@queensu.ca

Diane Kelly Diane Kelly
Professor
Ph.D. Royal Military College 2004
Office: RMC-Girouard 310
Phone: 613 541-6000 ext 6171
kelly-d@rmc.ca

Scott Knight Scott Knight
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Queen's University 2000
Office: RMC-Sawyer 3008
Phone: 613 541-6000 ext 6194
knight-s@rmc.ca

Susan Lederman Susan Lederman
Professor / Queen's Research Chair in Haptics
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1973
Office: Humphrey 346
Phone: 613 533-2878
lederman@post.queensu.ca

Greg Lessard Greg Lessard
Professor
Ph.D. Laval University 1984
Office: Goodwin 635
Phone: 613 533-6865
lessard@cs.queensu.ca

David Maslove David Maslove
Assistant Professor

Office: Dept. of Medicine, Queen's University
david.maslove@queensu.ca

Joshua Mozersky Joshua Mozersky
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (philosophy) University of Toronto 1999
Office: Watson
Phone: (613) 533.6000 ext. 77044
mozersky@queensu.ca

Jordan Poppenk Jordan Poppenk
Assistant Professor
PhD University of Toronto 2011
Office: Humphrey 345
Phone: (613) 533-6009
jpoppenk@queensu.ca

Damian Redfearn Damian Redfearn
Assistant Professor
University of Leicester 1993
Office: Department of Medicine
Phone: 613 548-3232
redfearn@queensu.ca

John Rudan John Rudan
Professor, Dept. Head

jfr1@queensu.ca

Karen Rudie Karen Rudie
Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1992
Office: WalterLight 414
Phone: 613 533-2966
karen.rudie@queensu.ca

Nancy Salay Nancy Salay
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Dalhousie University
Office: Queen's, Watson
Phone: 613 533-2182
salay@queensu.ca

Niko Troje Niko Troje
Professor / Canada Research Chair
Ph.D. University of Freiburg 1994
Office: Humphrey 344
Phone: 613 533-6017
troje@queensu.ca

Louise Winn Louise Winn
Professor
Ph.D University of Toronto 1999
Office: Botterell Hall 557
Phone: 613-533-6465
winnl@queensu.ca

Ying Zou Ying Zou
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2003
Office: Goodwin 731
Phone: 613 533-6000 ext 8684
ying.zou@queensu.ca

[top]

The Library

Computing Science textbooks, monographs, journals and technical reports from dozens of universities and research institutes are all housed in the Douglas Library (Engineering and Science). Other books and periodicals of interest may be found in the main university library, and in other branch libraries, particularly those for Mathematics and Psychology.

University Computing Facilities

Queen's Information and Technology Services (ITS) manages a number of systems on campus, including an (IBM) mainframe (QUCDN), a Sun Sparc server (QLINK) and the Jeffery SPARC lab. Terminals connected to the IBM mainframe are located at various sites across campus. QUCDN is used for Academic computing. QLINK can be accessed from PCs on campus, or through the QLINK dial-in-lines; QLINK provides Internet Service for the student population at Queen's. The Jeffery SPARC lab is a collection of 36 Sparc4 workstations with a Ultra Sparc server located in Jeffery Hall room 155; this site supports Academic computing. For more information on the ITS computing facilities visit their office in the Stauffer Library.

School of Computing Facilities

Graduate students tend to make more extensive use of the School's facilities rather than the University central ones described above. The general research facility is a network of Sun, SGI, Apple and PC workstations. The network consist of about 100 workstations supported by file servers. The network is connected to the University network which provides access to the Internet. The School's facilities are divided into about 10 laboratories that contain specialized equipment such as high-end graphics workstations, scanners, robotic equipment, audio and video equipment, multi-processing machines and colour laser printers. The School also maintains a laboratory of Sun, PC and Apple workstations for undergraduate teaching. These facilities are available during the Spring and Summer terms for research.

Office Space

All full-time students are provided with office or lab space. Currently most offices are shared by four students although some of the larger offices have a larger population. Smoking is forbidden in University buildings.

Lounge Area

A general lounge and coffee room area is maintained on the 6th floor. This is open to all staff and graduate students in the School.

Further Information

For further information concerning School and research activities, contact:

Debby Robertson, Graduate Secretary,
debby@cs.queensu.ca, or (613) 533-6781.