Queen's School of Computing

Environment

Kingston

Kingston is a relatively small (the population of the city and suburbs is around 120,000), "university" city, located midway between Toronto and Montreal and about 160 kilometres south of Ottawa.

There are excellent rail and road communications to these cities. Kingston was the site of the 1976 Sailing Olympics and is situated on the waterfront at the eastern most end of Lake Ontario. It supports a symphony orchestra and a number of theatre groups. A second university, the Royal Military College, is also located in the city.

Queen's

Queen's, founded in 1841, is one of the oldest Canadian Universities. The student population is deliberately small, around 13,000 students of whom about 2,000 are enrolled in the Graduate School, in 52 departments. About 60 of these graduate students are registered in the School of Computing.

The University is organized into 16 faculties and schools: Faculty of Applied Science, Faculty of Arts and Science, Faculty of Education, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Medicine, School of Business, School of English, School of Graduate Studies and Research , School of Industrial Relations, School of Music, School of Nursing, School of Physical Health and Education, School of Political Studies, School of Public Administration, School of Rehabilitation Therapy, and School of Urban and Regional Planning. Graduate work in Computing Science is administered through the

The School

The School of Computing is located in Goodwin Hall. A "technology centre" provides an integrated set of buildings linking the School of Computing, Electrical Engineering and the Computing Centre. Administrative offices are currently on the 5th floor of Goodwin. The School was established in 1969, and has an academic staff with considerable teaching and research experience. As well as the graduate programs at the Master's and Ph.D. levels, it offers an honours Bachelor's degree either with a major or a medial concentration in CISC and provides introductory computing instruction to the university as a whole.

The normal requirement for the M.Sc. program is a background in Computing Science roughly equivalent to a Bachelor s degree with a major concentration in Computing Science. Exceptional students with some background in computing may be admitted as graduate preparatory students. The School has about 45 full-time graduate students at the Master's level and normally admits about 25 new students each year. The Ph.D. program admits about 6 students per year. Ph.D. applicants should have completed a Master's degree in Computing Science. There are currently 25 candidates enrolled in the Ph.D. program. The various programs of study are described later in this brochure.

The graduate program is administered by the Coordinator(s) of Graduate Studies. A graduate committee which includes both faculty and student representatives determines policy in the various graduate programs. A small sub-committee makes decisions regarding admissions. Decisions regarding equipment and other facilities are made by the resources committee which again includes graduate student representation. A third committee, the undergraduate committee, completes the School committee structure. These committees report to periodic meetings of the full School which includes faculty, graduate, undergraduate and staff representation. Students are encouraged at all times to participate in School decisions on policy affecting graduate students.

Faculty Members


Bram Adams Bram Adams
Associate Professor
PhD Ghent University (Belgium) 2008
bram@cs.queensu.ca

Selim Akl Selim Akl
Professor
Ph.D. McGill University - 1978
Office: Goodwin 722
Phone: 613 533-6062
akl@cs.queensu.ca

Dorothea Blostein Dorothea Blostein
Professor
Ph.D. University of Illinois 1987
Office: Goodwin 720
Phone: 613 533-6537
blostein@cs.queensu.ca

Robin Dawes Robin Dawes
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1983
Office: Goodwin 537
Phone: 613 533-6061
dawes@cs.queensu.ca

Steven Ding Steven Ding
Assistant Professor
PhD McGill University 2019
Office: Goodwin 531
Phone: 613-533-6071
ding@cs.queensu.ca

Juergen Dingel Juergen Dingel
Professor
Ph.D. Carnegie Mellon University 1999
Office: Goodwin 723
Phone: 613 533-3071
dingel@cs.queensu.ca

Dave Dove Dave Dove
Lecturer, Continuing

Office: Goodwin 661
Phone: 613 533-6053
dove@cs.queensu.ca

Qingling Duan Qingling Duan
Assistant Professor, Queen's National Scholar in Bioinformatics

Office: Goodwin 756
Phone: 613 533-2948
duan@cs.queensu.ca

Joshua Dunfield Joshua Dunfield
Assistant Professor
PhD Carnegie Mellon University 2007
Office: Goodwin 534
joshuad@cs.queensu.ca

Randy Ellis Randy Ellis
Professor / Queen's Research Chair in Computer-Assisted Surgery
Ph.D. University of Massachusetts 1987
Office: Goodwin 737
Phone: 613 533-6536
ellis@queensu.ca

Gabor Fichtinger Gabor Fichtinger
Professor / Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Computer-Integrated Surgery
Dr. Univ. Technical University of Budapest 1990
Office: Goodwin 725
Phone: 613 533-3258
gabor@cs.queensu.ca

Sidney Givigi Sidney Givigi
Associate Professor
PhD Carleton University 2009
Office: Goodwin 634
givigi@cs.queensu.ca

Nick Graham Nick Graham
Professor
Ph.D. Technical University of Berlin 1994
Office: Goodwin 629
Phone: 613 533-6526
nicholas.graham@queensu.ca

Ahmed Hassan Ahmed Hassan
Professor / Canada Research Chair (Tier2) in Software Analytics / NSERC RIM Software Engineering
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2005
Office: Goodwin 735
Phone: 613 533-3337
ahmed@cs.queensu.ca

Hossam Hassanein Hossam Hassanein
Professor and Director
Ph.D. University of Alberta 1990
Office: Goodwin 520
Phone: 613 533-6052
hossam@cs.queensu.ca

Ting Hu Ting Hu
Assistant Professor
PhD Memorial University 2010
Office: Goodwin 730
Phone: 613-533-2334
ting.hu@cs.queensu.ca

David Lamb David Lamb
Associate Professor / Undergraduate Chair
Ph.D. Carnegie-Mellon University 1983
Office: Goodwin 626
Phone: 613 533-6067
dalamb@cs.queensu.ca

Margaret Lamb Margaret Lamb
Associate Professor, Continuing
M.Sc. Carnegie-Mellon University 1983
Office: Goodwin 527
Phone: 613 533-6763
malamb@cs.queensu.ca

Burton Ma Burton Ma
Associate Professor
PhD Queen's University 2005
burton.ma@queensu.ca

Alan McLeod Alan McLeod
Associate Professor, Continuing
Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology 1987
Office: Goodwin 542
Phone: 613 533-6716
mcleod@cs.queensu.ca

Parvin Mousavi Parvin Mousavi
Professor
Ph.D. University of British Columbia 2001
Office: Goodwin 729
Phone: 613 533-6070
pmousavi@cs.queensu.ca

Christian Muise Christian Muise
Assistant Professor
PhD University of Toronto
Phone: 613-533-6063
christian.muise@queensu.ca

Sara Nabil Sara Nabil
Assistant Professor
PhD Newcastle University 2019
sn77@queensu.ca

Wendy Powley Wendy Powley
Assistant Professor, Continuing
M.Sc. Queen's University 1990
Office: Goodwin 632
Phone: 613 533-6734
wendy@cs.queensu.ca

David Rappaport David Rappaport
Professor
Ph.D. McGill University 1987
Office: Goodwin 532
Phone: 613 533-6055
daver@cs.queensu.ca

Kai Salomaa Kai Salomaa
Professor
Ph.D. University of Turku 1989
Office: Goodwin 545
Phone: 613 533-6073
ksalomaa@cs.queensu.ca

Amber Simpson Amber Simpson
Associate Professor / Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) in Biomedical Computing and Informatics
PhD Queen's University 2010
Office: Goodwin 728
amber.simpson@queensu.ca

David Skillicorn David Skillicorn
Professor
Ph.D. University of Manitoba 1981
Office: Goodwin 528
Phone: 613 533-6065
skill@cs.queensu.ca

Sameh Sorour Sameh Sorour
Assistant Professor
PhD University of Toronto 2011
Office: Goodwin 734
Phone: 613-533-2767
samehsorour@cs.queensu.ca

James Stewart James Stewart
Professor
Ph.D. Cornell University 1992
Office: Goodwin 732
Phone: 613 533-3156
jstewart@cs.queensu.ca

Yuan Tian Yuan Tian
Assistant Professor
PhD Singapore Management University 2017
Office: Goodwin 635
yuan.tian@cs.queensu.ca

Farhana Zulkernine Farhana Zulkernine
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Queen's University 2009
Office: Goodwin 637
Phone: 613 613 533-6426
farhana@cs.queensu.ca

Mohammad Zulkernine Mohammad Zulkernine
Professor / Graduate Chair / Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) in Software Dependability
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2003
Office: Goodwin 540
Phone: 613-533-2837
mz@queensu.ca

[top]

Professors Emeriti


James Cordy James Cordy
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1986
Office: Goodwin 625
Phone: 613 533-6054
cordy@cs.queensu.ca

Bob Crawford Bob Crawford
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Cornell University 1975
Office: Goodwin
Phone: 613 533-2475
rgc@cs.queensu.ca

Janice Glasgow Janice Glasgow
Professor Emerita
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 1983
Phone: 613 533-6058
janice@cs.queensu.ca

Mike Jenkins Mike Jenkins
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. Stanford University 1969
Glenn MacEwen Glenn MacEwen
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1971
Pat Martin Pat Martin
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1984
Office: Goodwin 625
Phone: 613 533-6063
martin@cs.queensu.ca

Bob Tennent Bob Tennent
Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1973
Office: Goodwin
Phone: 613 533-6060
rdt@cs.queensu.ca

[top]

Cross-Appointed Faculty Members


Gunnar Blohm Gunnar Blohm
Professor
Ph.D. Universite Catholique de Louvain 2004
Office: Botterell Hall 229
Phone: 613-533-3385
gunnar.blohm@queensu.ca

Thomas Dean Thomas Dean
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Queen's University 1993
Office: WalterLight 421
Phone: 613 533-6482
dean@cs.queensu.ca

Michael Greenspan Michael Greenspan
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Carleton University 1991
Office: WalterLight 518
Phone: 613 533-6000 ext. 77736
michael.greenspan@queensu.ca

Keyvan Hashtrudi-Zaad Keyvan Hashtrudi-Zaad
Professor
Ph.D University of British Columbia 2000
Office: WLH 408
Phone: 613-533-3074
keyvan.hashtrudi-zaad@queensu.ca

Diane Kelly Diane Kelly
Professor
Ph.D. Royal Military College 2004
Office: RMC-Girouard 310
Phone: 613 541-6000 ext 6171
Diane.Kelly@rmcc-crmc.ca

Scott Knight Scott Knight
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Queen's University 2000
Office: RMC-Sawyer 3008
Phone: 613 541-6000 ext 6194
knight-s@rmc.ca

David Maslove David Maslove
Assistant Professor

Office: Dept. of Medicine, Queen's University
david.maslove@queensu.ca

Joshua Mozersky Joshua Mozersky
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (philosophy) University of Toronto 1999
Office: Watson
Phone: (613) 533.6000 ext. 77044
joshua.mozersky@queensu.ca

Aboelmagd  Noureldin Aboelmagd Noureldin
Professor
PhD University of Calgary
Office: Sawyer 5210
Phone: (613) 541-6000 ext 6366
nourelda@queensu.ca

Anna Panchenko Anna Panchenko
Professor / Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Computational Biology and Biophysics
PhD Lomonosov Moscow State University 1993
Office: Botterell Hall 9th floor
anna.panchenko@queensu.ca

Jordan Poppenk Jordan Poppenk
Assistant Professor
PhD University of Toronto 2011
Office: Humphrey 345
Phone: (613) 533-6009
jpoppenk@queensu.ca

Damian Redfearn Damian Redfearn
Professor
University of Leicester 1993
Office: Department of Medicine
Phone: 613 548-3232
redfearn@queensu.ca

Francois Rivest Francois Rivest
Associate Professor
PhD University of Montreal
Office: Girouard Building 344
Phone: (613) 541-6000 ext 6232
francois.rivest@rmcc-cmrc.ca

John Rudan John Rudan
Professor, Dept. Head

rudanj@kgh.kari.net

Karen Rudie Karen Rudie
Professor
Ph.D. University of Toronto 1992
Office: WalterLight 414
Phone: 613 533-2966
karen.rudie@queensu.ca

Nancy Salay Nancy Salay
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Dalhousie University
Office: Queen's, Watson
Phone: 613 533-2182
salay@queensu.ca

Louise Winn Louise Winn
Professor
Ph.D University of Toronto 1999
Office: Botterell Hall 557
Phone: 613-533-6465
winnl@queensu.ca

Ying Zou Ying Zou
Professor / Canada Research Chair (Tier2) in Software Evolution
Ph.D. University of Waterloo 2003
Office: Goodwin 731
Phone: (613) 533-6000 x36497
ying.zou@queensu.ca

[top]